Burroughs-Saden Library, 925 Broad Street, 3rd floor
The Bridgeport History Center’s foundations were laid in the 19th century by Bridgeport citizens who cared about their community and wished to document it for future generations. The department was formally founded in 1936, and it is a proud part of the Bridgeport Public Library System.
We continue this tradition of documentation by continuously acquiring material that speaks to Bridgeport’s rich past, vibrant contemporary community, and ensures access to this material for present and future generations.
Within the Bridgeport History Center are over 12,000 volumes, thousands of photographs, manuscript items, newspapers and newspaper clipping files, the Bridgeport History Center contains all kinds of materials on Bridgeport and the greater Connecticut-Long Island region, as well as one of the largest genealogy collections in the state. From oral history interviews with Bridgeport citizens to the personal papers of P.T. Barnum, our collection documents every aspect of Bridgeport and strives to document Bridgeport’s diverse communities.